Our 3rd Paris Bucket Lists Checked: Notre Dame St. Michel Cathedral

In this post, I will still talk about me and my significant other’s bucket lists during our last trip to Paris. It was just last month since I went back from my second trip to Paris, we had so much fun last time which we’ll never forget.

Every time I travel abroad, especially to European countries, I always spare my times to visit some worship places, most of the times I went to many cathedrals just wants to see their old architecture as well as the interior design of the cathedrals. Basically, I love architecture and interior design, since long time ago.

So here I am gonna show you our good times during our visit to the famous and oldest Cathedral in Paris…

Notre Dame Cathedral.

It was a beautiful day during spring!

That was my second time to visit Notre Dame Cathedral. My first time went there back in 2015, but I was not able to go inside the Cathedral because I had limited short time of visit and plus, the queue was very loooong! Last month I went there with my boyfriend, the queue also very long but then it faster for the visitors who wanted to go in.

Oh, look at the details of the front of the building (Western facade)

As you can see from the whole architecture of this building, it is a medieval Catholic cathedral and very well-known as one of French Gothic architecture. The construction has begun in 1163 during Louis VII, and the elements were completed around 1345.

The Evolution of the Cathedral in France

As a Moslem, I really love to see and visit gothic cathedrals in Europe because first, we don’t have such very old buildings in my hometown, Jakarta. So it will be different experiences for me. And the last, I like to learn how they pray and try to look at every different worship places, as well as to understand their histories. I was so lucky that I have French boyfriend which also was my personal tour guide in Paris, so he could tell me all about the church and its history. Merci beaucoup mon sayang.. Bisous!

A view from the left-side of the Cathedral

In Indonesia, we have a lot of mosques, churches, monasteries (Vihara/Wihara is a Buddhist worship place), and some of the Hinduist temples (there are many of Hinduist temples in Bali). For me, it is important to learn other religious activities and cultures, because it will make us understand to each other’s belief as well as to embrace the differenciancies.

Magnificent view from behind of the Cathedral

Okay back to this Notre Dame, this cathedral located in Central of Paris. Where you can get the transportation easily by RER B (blue line), RER C (yellow line), and Metro Line 4 (fuschia), besides you can also reach the place easily by some busses.

**

Pictures was taken by me.

5th Arrondissement of Paris, Île de la Cité.

Leave a Reply

