Unexpected Journey #2 : Danau Toba, North Sumatera – Indonesia

Well, weekends almost over now (in Indonesia time). But I have many stories that I would like to share with you about my last business trip to a new island that I ever visited in my life. Yes, that was my first time visited this island, although I am a Sumatera descent from my mother side.

I was very lucky that I had a chance to visit, to see and to feel directly the Lake Toba (in Bahasa, Danau Toba) as our refreshed time after long journey and lot of works to do in the past weeks. This is the most well-known and famous area for a touristic place in North Sumatera or Medan. When we planned this business trip to Medan, I was thinking that we won’t have much time to visit this beautiful and wonderful lake because of our tight working schedule, but in fact and unexpected, WE DID IT! Yay.

For me, the Lake Toba it seems similar to the sea, considering the size of the lake which very large. Did some of you already knew or ever visited Danau Toba?

img_20170120_165502
Beautiful view of Toba Lake from above

I would like to tell you a short history about the lake. Well, before I only knew few about the lake, I am so lucky that I have a boyfriend who is a geologist (and he knew more about Indonesia than me, I guess) so he was telling me a short explanation about the Lake Toba. Since then, I Googled a history of the lake and this is it what I found.

Lake Toba is a large natural lake occupying the caldera of a supervolcano. The lake is about 100 kilometres long, 30 kilometres wide, and up to 505 metres (1,666 ft) deep. Located in the middle of the northern part of the Indonesian island of Sumatera. It is the largest lake in Indonesia and also the largest volcanic lake in the world. It was massive supervolcanic eruption estimated that occurred 69,000 to 77,000 years ago representing a climate-changing event. It is the largest known explosive eruption on Earth in the last 25 million years. According to the Toba catastrophe theory, it had global consequences for human populations; it killed most humans living at that time and is believed to have created a population bottleneck in central east Africa and India, which affects the genetic make up of the human worldwide population to the present. (Wikipedia)

Pulau Samosir or Samosir Island, which is the island in the middle, was joined to the caldera wall by a narrow isthmus, which was cut through to enable boats to pass; a road bridge crosses the cutting. Samosir island is the cultural centre of the Batak tribe, the indigenous from North Sumatra. This eruption was estimated to have caused mass death and extinction of several species of living creatures. The eruption of Mount Toba has led to changes in the earth’s weather and the start into the ice age that affects the world civilization. Samosir Island is an unique island for it is a volcanic island that settled in the middle of Lake Toba. The altitude is 1,000 meters above sea level. Although it has becomes a tourist destination for a long time, Samosir is kind of virgin natural site. In the middle of Samosir Island, there are two more beautiful lakes named Lake Aek Sidihoni and Lake Natonang. The area around Toba has pine forests that arranged beautifuly in greenish nuance. On the outskirts of Lake Toba, there are several waterfalls which are extremely fascinating. Furthermore, you will also find a sulfur spring. At Samosir Island you can also find misty mountains, crystal clear waterfalls to swim, and farming communities. The friendliness of Batak society will captivate you because wherever you go then immediately able to find new friends. (Indonesia Tourism)

DCIM100MEDIA
Kartika Beach, Toba Lake – North Sumatera, Indonesia

So that’s all about the lake and the Samosir island. Last time, we had a plan to rent a boat to go to the Samosir island, but because the time was already a little bit late in the afternoon, so we decided to go back directly to the city because some of us will have a morning flight the next day. Yes, it’s unfortunate. But I was happy to see and feel the beach sands also the water in the lake. Because most of the local people said;

“You have not been to Medan if you do not touch and feel the water of Lake Toba”.

So we did it!

Me, keep busy operated my new camera :3
Me, keep busy operated my new camera :3

During the journey from South of Aceh to the Lake Toba took around 5 or 6 hours by car. The road? was very crazy for the first timer like me! Hahaha. The road feels like we were in a rollercoaster, ups and downs, many curves because we were passing by the mountain hills. Left and right our cars were covered by many beautiful trees and in some road, we can easily found wild monkeys surround!

It was a memorable and unexpected journey for me. And the best way to start my 2017’s travel journey so far! I would love to come back to Lake Toba and next time will be happy to explore and visit beautiful waterfalls around the lake, like Air Terjun Sipiso-piso (Sipiso-piso waterfalls) ❤

Leave a Reply

