Unexpected journey : Padova, Italy

I am one of a kind of girl who believes a hundred percents that life is (indeed) full of surprises. That’s what I felt during 3-months lived and well-travelled in some Europe countries last summer. My travel plans have changed a lot once I arrived in Geneva, Switzerland, where I started my first living and working abroad experience in 2016. How was it feel? Oh, it was wonderful and unforgettable moments that I ever experience.

Since long time ago, I always believe “what you give to others, that’s what you’ll get back” in return. So if you do good to people, people will treat you exactly the same how did you treat them. It is what I actually felt, during my 2nd trip in one of beautiful country in Europe.

Here is…. Italy!

dsc04099
Palazzo Moroni, Comune di Padova

During my second trip to Italy, I had a chance to visit Venice and Padova (or Padua). I won’t talk more about Venice, as some of you may already know and saw many beautiful pictures about the city of love and plus, you may already know because you have watched movies like The Tourist or even the latest ones, Inferno. But here, I’d rather talked about my unexpected journey in Padova, Italy.

Why I called it the unexpected journey?

Because Padova was never been on my Europe or even Italy bucket-list. But I made it happened because of my Couchsurfing host (you can also add me on my Couchsurfing account) who were very kind to me and invited me to see another city in Italy where the location is 45 mins drove by car from Venice and last time I only had half-day visit time with my host before I flew back to Geneva. Padova is a small city, where located in Northern Italy’s Veneto region. It’s well-known by Giotto’s creation in Scrovegni Chapel and Basilica of Saint Anthony.

Like any other cities in Italy, for me, Padova has the sense of history, art and culture. Just like in Rome. When I have discussed with my host, he shared to me about the history of the city where the city was well-known with the renaissance era and modern architecture. There are some medieval palaces, artistic churches and cobbled streets, the shops, markets and locals, also a vibrant modern life.

These are some must-visit lists that I make for you who wants to visit and passing by the Padova city:

1. Basilica of Saint Anthony

20160828_144350
Sant Antonio Basilica di Padova
20160828_144103
The byzantine-style domes in Basilica Sant Antonio di Padova
This is the Basilica Sant Antonio from outside the building which taken by me, during my travel to Padova. It was a very sunny day around 35 degrees Celsius during the summer. Fantastic, huh? It is a Roman Catholic church which is for me the dome is similar to the mosque dome in Muslim worship place.
20160828_143921
The yard of the Basilica
20160828_143649
Inside of Basilica

Although the Basilica is visited as a place of pilgrimage by people from all over the world, it is not the titular cathedral of the city, a title belonging to the Cathedral-Basilica of St. Mary of Padua. The basilica is known locally as “il Santo”. The construction itself has begun around 1232, just one year after St. Anthony death.

2. Church of the Eremitani

dsc04091
Church of the Eremitani

The Church of the Eremitani, or Church of the Hermits, is an Augustinian church of the 13th century in Padova. I didn’t do much in here because that time I only had very short time to visit so I was just looked around at the Church’s yard which there were many sculptures

3. Piazza dei Signori

20160828_135639
Piazza dei Signori

And this one of the famous and historical square in Padova. Around this square, you can easily found some cafe or coffee shop and many local people or tourists were sitting around the square just for hangout with friends and family.

4. Prato della Valle and Abbey of Santa Giustina

According to Wikipedia, this square has 90,000 square meters elliptical square in Padova, Italy. It is the largest square in Italy and one of the largest in Europe. Today, the square is a large space with a green island at the centre, l’Isola Memmia, surrounded by a small canal bordered by two rings of statues.

20160828_141911
The building of Abbey of Santa Giustina appears on behind

20160828_141541

The Abbey of Santa Giustina is a Benedictine abbey in the centre of the City of Padua, facing the Prato della Valle, which dates from the 10th century. The abbey is attached to the Basilica of Santa Giustina, which was built in the 6th century (Wikipedia). And today, the Prato della Valle square usually use for festival music, to see fireworks during the New Year, or even just have a picnic day with friends and family by the local people.

5. Palazzo della  Ragione

dsc04102
The Palazzo della Ragione is a medieval town hall building in Padua, in the Veneto region of Italy
There were some of the touristic and historical places which you should have to visit during your travel in Padova, like; Scrovegni Chapel, Orto Botanico di Padova, Santa Sofia Church, Padova Cathedral, Ponte San Lorenzo, Palazzo Giusti, and much more. I didn’t have many chances to go to those places and to took a picture, because I have run out of batteries, both my phone and my camera (Yes, poor me!). But as you can see in above pictures, there are some places which very worth to visit once you are in Padova, Italy!
2 thoughts on “Unexpected journey : Padova, Italy

  1. Very nice city I was thinking to visit but changed my mind later on:) Now I feel like I should have gone there 😦 I’m writing a blog about traveling too:) Would be grateful if you check out.Best wishes

    Like

Leave a Reply

