WITT #9: Before-end-of-the-year Resolution

I really can’t believe that we are going to (almost) at the end of 2016 very soon! This year I remembered that I didn’t make any New Year resolution, like what I always did in the previous years. Well, for me it’s not really a big deal to have a resolution in every new year, because I realized that what really matters for me is, if you really have dreams or wishes, you just OR should need to believe and confident with your dreams, keep praying and consistently strive to achieve it!

Since a long time, I have had a dream to live and work abroad. I just realised, my birthday wishes in the past few years was always mentioned about it. And voila… alhamdulillah I could achieve it this year. I lived and worked in Geneva, Switzerland for 3-months! As a big plus, I worked and became one of the ‘history-maker’ at the 32nd Session of the UN Human Rights Council in Palais des Nations, Geneva – Switzerland!

Well, anyway, let’s back to the topic!

Some days ago, I am fully excited about reading book or e-book (AGAIN!). Since I was a teenager, I always bought some Indonesian fiction novel and I could finish it only for a day! Recently, the habit and that excitement feeling to read many books are really turning me ON again! For now, I want to read any kind of books, and it must be in English. Because I believe it is one of the ways to practice how to read and write in English, as well as to enrich my English vocabulary, that for sure.

Couple days ago, I just finished a novel that I bought earlier this year, the title is “It’s Not Me, It’s You” by Mhairi McFarlane. See my review of this book here!

I am kind of a person who easily gets bored to read one book consistently for 2 or 3 days in a row, so sometimes I mixed some books that I want to read. Besides the romance or comedy fiction novel, I also really like to read some books which still fiction but more about thriller, mystery, etc; or if I have my leisure time at the office, I’d like to read some books about death penalty, human rights, culture, political, gender, psychology, literature, or even some kind religion values genres.

So, before it’s too late, starting from today I will make my own ‘Before-end-of-the-year Resolution’ to read the books as much as possible! Wish me luck!

“It’s never too late and out of date to read a book. Because knowledge definitely has no limitation and expired date!”

Astrid Maharani

Leave a Reply

