The eternal snow, my experience in Mont-blanc, Chamonix

Saturday, 20 August 2016

Finally, after I bought the EasyBus ticket from the website (the price was around €18.99), I went to Chamonix! I was too excited to see the Mont Blanc, the highest mountain in the Alps and the highest in Europe!

I always feel very excited every time I want to visit a place that I never been there before, that is why that day I woke up around 6 am, even though the bus scheduled at 10.30 am. The night before I went to Chamonix, I already prepared everything like 2 coats, hand gloves, sweater, long sleeve shirt, socks, shawl, foods, etc.

I was not prepared warm clothes from Jakarta because I knew I will be in Geneva during the summer season. So I don’t think I will need it. That is why, I borrowed the coat, shawl and gloves with Hannah, one of my housemate. Thank you, Hannah!

I was arrived in Geneva Airport around 9.30 am. So I have more time to wait for the bus. That day, there was raining pouring down both in Geneva and on my way to Chamonix. I continued to sleep, once I sat on my seat in the bus. The journey to Chamonix took around 1hr30mins! I met with a very nice Chinese girl who lives in Geneva but she often visited Chamonix almost every weekend, and she could speak both French and English very well. So she helped me to found out the Aiguille du Midi Cable Car station.

I was watching the weather forecast which they have around the bus central station in Chamonix and it has shown there was a lot of fog around the mountain, so if I buy the cable car ticket for that day, I wouldn’t see anything above. I felt confused and literally don’t know what to do, so I finally bought a cup of cappuccino in a cafe inside the Aiguille du Midi station, also to find the Wi-Fi!

And voilaaa, I got a good news once I turned on my data connection. There was a Couchsurfing who live in Chamonix was offered me a place to stay. I was not thinking to find a place to stay in Chamonix, last time I prefer to find a place in Annecy. But… how lucky I was!? Because the day I arrived in Chamonix, we had bad weather ever! According to my host.

I felt a lil bit confused, where should I go, then I just texted my host and told him, I will definitely stay in his place for a night! Because I will try to ride the cable car to Aiguille du Midi on Sunday! I was really hoping that on Sunday the weather will be better than on Saturday.

Sunday, 21 August 2016

I am so excited that day! I woke up like very early in the morning, around 5.30am. Once I woke up, my host helped me to found out about the weather above the Aiguille du Midi mountains by looking their weather forecast website, called Chamonix-Meteo. From there, you will definitely see the situation from the webcam above the mountain. And that time, my host told me there was the sun rises above the mountains! Yay! I should have to go right after I ate my salmon sandwich.

I bought the ticket package for the cable car Aiguille du Midi and the Glacier express for only EUR 61, I got a discount around EUR 25 something. So I took the cable car starting around 6.30am.

You will be so jealous with what I saw that early morning in the top of the Aiguille du Midi! For sure!

Clouds and mountains

Subhanallah! These mountains are the greatest ones that I ever saw in my life. But I know You are still the Greatest of all! Allahuakbar! 

So, up in the Aiguille du Midi, there are some ‘attraction’ that you can do like, skiing, hiking, go to the step into void, taking picture in front of the Mont-blanc, taking another cable car (the small one which goes to the Italian part of this mountain) or even just hang out in the cafe with the superb view. Love love!

Mini cable car around the mountains
People doing sport, like ski and hiking
image
Right behind me is the top of the Mont-Blanc!
image
STEP INTO THE VOID!
image
That day was also my Dad’s birthday, so I took a chance to sent my birthday greetings for him in front of the Mont-blanc peak! And he loved it! Yay..

image

Well, if someday you were thinking to go to somewhere in France, I would definitely suggest you go to the Chamonix! Since then I really love this lovely little town. I AM SO IN LOVE!

Leave a Reply

